Guacamole

DSC_0083

I think guacamole is one of my favorite dishes.  I make it at least once a week and we’ve been known to add sweet potato tortillas and make a light meal out of it.  My family loves guacamole.  We make a lot of southwestern inspired food so guacamole is a staple at my house.  This recipe is a simpler version.  If I’m feeling like I want a little more spice, I add a chopped clove of garlic and 1/2 of a diced red onion.

Ingredients

3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled
1 lime, juiced
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Pinch of cayenne
2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1/2 cup diced red onion
2 tablespoon chopped cilantro

Instructions

In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, toss to coat.  Using a fork add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash. Then, fold in the tomatoes, onions and cilantro.  Let guacamole sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

One thought on “Guacamole

Leave a comment