Zucchini Pizza Crust

DSC_0020

Since I’ve had surplus zucchini from the garden I wanted to try different zucchini recipes.  I’ve seen lots of recipes for zucchini pizza crust around so I decided to give it a try.  I combined a few of the recipes I found to make this version.  One key is to be sure to squeeze all the water out so your crust isn’t soggy.  I topped our zucchini pizza with roasted tomatoes and basil both from our garden.  If you give this wonderful recipe a try, I hope you enjoy.

Ingredients:

8 cups shredded zucchini
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2/3 cup flour
2 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
3 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp basil
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 tsp salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 550F.  In a large bowl, toss the zucchini with 1 teaspoon coarse salt and set aside for 15 minutes. Squeeze the excess moisture out of the zucchini by wrapping it up in a clean tea towel or piece of cheese cloth and wringing it out.

Once all of the excess moisture has been wrung out and discarded, place the shredded zucchini back into the bowl and add the cheddar cheese, flour, garlic, oregano, basil, eggs, and salt.

With your hands, incorporate all of the ingredients together.  Line a pizza pan with parchment paper and place the zucchini mixture on top.

Using your fingers, spread the zucchini crust mixture to form a circle about 14” in diameter, 1/2″ thick. Pinch the edges up so that it forms a nice crust.
Once the pizza crust has been shaped, bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the crust starts to brown.

Remove the pizza crust from oven and top as desire. I used roasted tomatoes and basil but marinara, cheese and basil would also be delicious.  Put back in oven for an additional 5 minutes.

Leave a comment