Coconut Granola

DSC_0014

I got this recipe from the Minimalist Baker.  She creates vegetarian, vegan and gluten free recipes.  I’ve tried several of her recipes and I’ve always tweaked them but I didn’t change a thing to this recipe.  I was in love from the get go.  I use this as my cereal.  I add dried blueberries and soy milk.  It’s so good and healthy.  My husband uses it as a yogurt topper and we both enjoy it as a movie snack.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup slivered raw almonds
1/2 cup raw pecan halves or pieces
1 Tbsp coconut sugar
1/4 tsp sea salt
3 Tbsp coconut oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
optional: 1/4 cup dried blueberries, cherries, or cranberries

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
Add oats, coconut, almonds, pecans, coconut sugar, and salt to a large mixing bowl and stir to combine.

Add coconut oil and maple syrup to a small sauce pan. Warm over medium heat for 2-3 minutes, whisking frequently until the two are totally combined and there is no visible separation. Add vanilla, whisk once more.

Immediately pour over the dry ingredients and stir to combine until all oats and nuts are thoroughly coated. Arrange on a large baking sheet and spread into an even layer.

Bake for 20 minutes, then remove from oven and turn the pan around so the other end goes into the oven first (so it bakes evenly).  Bake 5-7 minutes more, watching carefully as to not let it burn.

Let cool completely before enjoying. Add dried fruit to the pan while the granola is cooling (optional). Break into clumps.

Store in a sealed bag or container at room temperature for 2 weeks or in the freezer for up to 1 month.

Leave a comment